Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

The Scientific Advisory Committee was established in 2015 to fulfill the following roles:

  • To design, conduct, publish and facilitate translation of clinical trial research for sarcomas, and in doing so establish and foster the scientific objectives of the group
  • To ensure scientific rigour is applied to all research proposed and conducted by the group
  • To advise the Board on matters pertaining to the scientific interests, reputation and strategic direction of the group
  • To determine the scientific validity of research undertaken, and to ensure the scientific objectives of the company are upheld.  The chief responsibility of the SAC will be oversight of the ASSG clinical trial program, translational research studies, and other sarcoma research activities.


SAC Members

There are 19 members of the Scientific Advisory Committee:


Dr Jayesh Desai MBBS Chair of the SAC

Medical Oncologist, The Royal Melbourne Hospital and Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Senior Clinical Research Fellow,  The Ludwig Colon Cancer Initiative program

Associate Director for Cancer Trials Australia 


Professor David Thomas MBBS, PhD Deputy Chair of the SAC

Director, The Kinghorn Cancer Centre 

Head, The Cancer Division of the Garvan Institute

Lab Head, Genomic Cancer medicine

Senior Medical Oncologist and NHMRC Principle Research Fellow  


Dr Susie Bae MBBS, FRACP, M Epi

Medical Oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, St Vincent’s Hospital

Clinical research fellow, Australasian Sarcoma Study Group


Dr Vivek Bhadri MA, MBBS, PhD, FRACP

Adolescent Medical Oncologist, Chris O’Brien Lifehouse, Westmead Hospital

Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Sydney


Dr Sarat Chander MD, DNB, FRANZCR

Radiation Oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre


Professor Peter Choong

Director and Professor of Orthopaedics, St. Vincent’s Hospital and Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Chair, The Sarcoma Service in Melbourne

The Sir Hugh Devine Chair of Surgery

Head, The University Melbourne Department of Surgery at St. Vincent’s Hospital


Professor Phil Crowe

Professor of Surgery and Clinical Associate Dean, The University of New South Wales

Head of Department of General Surgery, The Prince of Wales Hospital


Mr David Gyorki

Surgical oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Austin Hospital and St Vincent’s Hospital

Fellow, Clinical Cancer Research at the University of Melbourne


Dr Angela Hong

Radiation Oncologist, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital


Dr  Warren Joubert

Medical Oncologist, The Princess Alexandra and Greenslopes Private Hospital


Dr Maya Kansara PhD

Group leader,  The Immunobiology of Cancer

The Kinghorn Cancer Centre,  The Garvan Institute of Medical Research


Associate Professor Geoffrey McCowage MB, BS, FRACP

Associate Professor, University of Western Sydney

CEO, Australasian Children’s Cancer Trials

Senior Paediatric Oncologist, Children’s Oncology Group PI, Children’s Hospital at Westmead


Dr Wayne Nicholls

Senior Staff Specialist, Paediatric Oncology, Children’s Health Queensland Hospital & Health Service, Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital


Dr Lisa Orme MBBS, FRACP

Paediatric and Adolescent Oncologist, Peter MacCallym Cancer Centre, Royal Children's Hospital

Medical Director, ONTrac@PeterMac, Victorian Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer Service

Lead Clinician, Victoria and Tasmania Cancer Youth Service

Dr Marianne Phillips

Paediatric and Adolescent Oncologist and Palliative Care Specialist, Princess Margaret Hospital for Children

Lead clinician, The Western Australian Cancer and Palliative Care Network paediatric and adolescent tumour collaborative 


Dr David Pryor

Director of Training, Dept of Radiation Oncology, Division of Cancer Services, Princess Alexandra Hospital, Metro South Health

Adjunct Associate Professor Queensland University of Technology 


Professor Martin Tattersall

Professor of Cancer Medicine at the University of Sydney

Clinical Academic Oncologist at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital


Dr Stephen Thompson MBBS, FRANZCR, PhD

Sydney Sarcoma Unit, Prince of Wales Hospital

Senior Staff Specialist, Department of Radiation Oncology, Prince of Wales Hospital

Conjoint Senior Lecturer, POWH Clinical School, Faculty of Medicine, UNSW


Associate Professor Carl Walkley

Stem Cell Regulation Unit (co-Head), St Vincent's Institute

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, St Vincent's Hospital, University of Melbourne

Last update: 05-Feb-2016 06:32 PM