Governance of the ASSG occurs through an Executive,  Board of Directors, and Scientific Advisory Committee. The Executive comprises the Chair of the Board, Chair of the SAC, and the Executive Officer. The Board of Directors was formally installed in August 2008. Of the current eight Directors, six are medically trained and one member is a consumer representative and one has a corporate and finance background. The following profiles showcase the wealth of experience and knowledge that these Directors bring to the board table.


Board of Directors 


Mr Adrian Cosenza, Chair of the Board

Mr Adrian Cosenza is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Australian Orthopaedic Association (AOA) joining AOA in July 2010. Adrian is an experienced CEO and seasoned director and executive leader of over 30 years having served in executive capacity in three industries including medical education, technology and banking and finance in both the commercial and not for profit sectors.  Adrian has served on the Board of 11 companies covering four industries in four different individual international jurisdictions. Adrian has a Bachelor of Commerce and Masters of Commerce from the University of New South Wales and a Masters of Business Administration from the International Management Development Institute (IMD) in Lausanne Switzerland. Adrian is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Fellow of CPA Australia and a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia. Adrian’s passion is working with and leading teams to achieve better outcomes for all stakeholders.


Dr Jayesh Desai, Chair SAC

Dr Jayesh Desai, Melbourne-based, is a Medical Oncologist at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre; Senior Clinical Research Fellow within the Ludwig Colon Cancer Initiative program; and Associate Director for Cancer Trials Australia. Jayesh’s clinical and research interests are in rationally developing new anticancer therapeutics with particular emphasis on sarcomas and colorectal cancer.


Professor David Thomas, Deputy Chair of the SAC

Prof David Thomas, Sydney-based, is the Director of the Kinghorn Cancer Centre and Division Head-Cancer, Lab Head-Genomic Cancer medicine.  He is a senior medical oncologist and NHMRC Senior Research Fellow . David was the founding Chair of the ASSG and was the Director of the AYA cancer program at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. David’s research focuses on a strong cell and molecular program, which forms the basis of early phase and translational clinical research.

Professor Phil Crowe, Sydney-based, is a Professor of Surgery and Clinical Associate Dean at the University of New South Wales and Head of Department of General Surgery at the Prince of Wales Hospital. Phil’s major surgical interests are sarcoma, breast and endocrine surgery. He has published widely on subjects such as prognostic factors and outcomes in soft tissue sarcoma, colorectal cancer, thyroid surgery breast cancer treatment, as well as on surgical education.

Dr Marianne Phillips, Perth-based, is a Consultant Paediatric and Adolescent Oncologist and Palliative Care Specialist at Princess Margaret Hospital for Children. Originally from the UK, Marianne has developed an increasing interest in the specific needs of adolescent oncology patients and has been instrumental in establishing the first specific adolescent oncology inpatient facilities in Australia. She is lead clinician for the Western Australian Cancer and Palliative Care Network paediatric and adolescent tumour collaborative and a member of that network’s sarcoma tumour collaborative.

Mr David Gyorki , Melbourne-based, is a specialist surgical oncologist at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Austin Hospital with a particular interest in the management of patients with soft tissue sarcoma and melanoma. He also holds a fellowship in Clinical Cancer Research at the University of Melbourne. His research interest is in tumour immunology and in understanding the role of novel immunotherapy agents to reduce the risk of recurrence for patients having surgery for cancer. 


Dr Angela Hong, Sydney-based, is a clinician scientist with a strong track record in clinical and basic science research. She is a radiation oncologist and has been involved in the Multidisciplinary Sarcoma Clinic at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital for the past 15 years. One of her research interests is to develop innovative radiation therapy technique to improve the outcome and minimise toxicity. 


Mr Geoff McKinnon is a retired electrical engineer and company director who joined the ASSG Board in November 2013.  Geoff was a co founder of the consulting engineering company GPA Engineering Pty Ltd and served it as a director for 24 years and managing director for 13 years before retiring in 2011.  Geoff is currently the chairman of the philanthropic group GPA Andrew Ursini Charitable Fund and a board member of Parkinson’s SA.  Geoff is a Fellow of Engineers Australia (Retd) and a Chartered Professional Engineer (Retd).

Previous Directors


Professor Peter Choong, Melbourne-based,  is a Director and Professor of Orthopaedics at St. Vincent’s Hospital and Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre; Chair of the Sarcoma Service in Melbourne; and the Sir Hugh Devine Chair of Surgery and Head of the University Melbourne Department of Surgery at St. Vincent’s Hospital. Peter’s close clinical and research association with other sarcoma experts places him in an ideal position to develop strategies to translate programs of basic research into programs of clinical care.


Associate Professor Susan Neuhaus, Adelaide-based, is a Surgical Oncologist and Clinical Associate Professor at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and current Chair of the Surgical Oncology Group of COSA. Susan’s main clinical and research interests are melanoma and sarcoma while her basic research includes a PhD investigating mechanisms of tumour dissemination during laparoscopic surgery. Publications include work on radiation-induced sarcoma, retroperitoneal liposarcomas, regional chemotherapy and gastro-intestinal stromal tumours.


Professor Martin Tattersall, Sydney-based, has since 1977 been Professor of Cancer Medicine at the University of Sydney and a clinical academic oncologist at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. His clinical and research interests include sarcomas, clinical trials, cancer education, doctor/patient communication and supportive care. He has been President of COSA and was Chairman of the Australian Drug Evaluation Committee for 13 years. He has supervised close to 20 PhD and MD students.


Dr Warren Joubert, Brisbane-based, is a Medical Oncologist at the Princess Alexandra and Greenslopes Private Hospitals. His clinical and research interests include sarcoma and gastro-intestinal cancers and he is a principal investigator and associate investigator for a number of related clinical trials at these sites. He is also an active member of the newly formed Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer service at the Princess Alexandra Hospital. Warren now serves on the ASSG SAC.

Dr Peter Steadman, Brisbane-based, is a Surgical Oncologist who joined the Board in 2012. He was the long standing Secretary of the Australian Sarcoma Group and is currently the ASG President.


Last update: 05-Feb-2016 04:03 PM

























Chair of the Board Mr Adrian Consenza
Chair of the SAC Dr Jayesh Desai
Executive Officer Dr Denise Caruso